Norwegians in America, their History and Record (years 1825-1907), Volume 1 by Martin Ulvestad

$ 53.95

Norwegians in America, their History and Record: A translated version of the 1907 and 1913 Nordmændene i Amerika, deres Historie og Rekord, Volume 1
Written by Martin Ulvestad

Translated into English by Olaf Tronsen Kringhaug and Odd-Steinar Dybvad Raneng
Transcribed from Gothic script by Benjamin Keith Huntrods
Edited by Margit Nysetvold Bakke
Indexed and Published by Deb Nelson Gourley, Astri My Astri Publishing

Volume 1 — Norwegian immigration during 1825-1907

  • Vol 1 of a 3-vol-set [NOTE: all 3 books NEEDED as they cross-reference]
  • Sorted by geography in the USA & Canada and by 1st name
  • USA (41 states, 500 counties) & Canada (6 provinces)
  • 5,700 pioneers indexed plus contains maps of Norway
  • Pioneer sagas, genealogy, emigration & immigration
  • Bilingual — English translation and Norwegian transcription
  • 480 pages, 7 x 10 inch, hardcover, Smyth sewn binding
  • ISBN: 978-0-9760541-6-0
  • © 2010, Printed in U.S.A.

Volume 1 includes both an English translation as well as a Norwegian transcription from pages 1-250 of the 1907 Gothic script and covers immigration to America 1825-1907. The sagas tell of where the pioneers emigrated from in Norway, immigrated to in America (1825-1907), genealogy, life and hardships on the emigrant ships, canal boat and cattle car journeys to the Midwest, sickness, oxcarts, dugouts, sod huts, numerous pastors and churches, livestock and crops, grasshoppers, prairie fires, blizzards, Indian Wars and more.

Areas included are:

  • USA — 41 states and 500 counties: Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa, Minnesota, South Dakota, North Dakota, Washington, Alabama, Alaska, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia and West Virginia.
  • Canada — 6 provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec and Saskatchewan.